Thoughts on GoogleTV

8 10 2010

Google TV looks to be yet another great product of integration by Google, so let us all begin our sacrificial practices to the Google Gods, and give thanks.  After taking some time to browse the tour site that Google has so gracefully laid out for us enthusiasts over at Google.com/tv, I must say my pulse has quickened, and my heart-rate, well… my pulse has quickened.  As a side note, I have been living completely without Cable television for almost six months now, and I must say that I will never go back to paying outrageous amounts of money to be forced to watch mindless crap ever again.  Thanks to Netflix, Hulu, Blockbuster Online, and my HDMI out on my laptop, I enjoy plenty of rich, streaming entertainment which may still be crap, but its my crap.

With that said the onset of the new innovation dubbed ‘creatively’ Google TV looks like the Mecca on my newfound journey towards better quality entertainment.  I finally have a product to sling to all of my friends whom I am consistently bragging to just how entertained I am for about $20.00 a month.  Now, allow me to burst my own bubble.  The specifications on Logitech’s website for their Revue, the hardware that you can purchase to add Google TV to any existing TV’s you already own, requires a Cable or Satellite Set Top Box with HDMI out. *PoP*  For the time being, fingers-crossed that there will be an internet only version available as well.

Regardless of whether or not this will require an active cable or DirectTV membership with compatible set top box, the few screens and demonstrations us low level consumers get are enough to make me salivate at the thought of tinkering for hours with this new UI.  Imagine, Google Chrome launching on your 48″ Sony Bravia HDTV with a Pandora app running in the background, and rich, handpicked content there for you to explore.  The customization will surely be impressive, and as the program responds to consumers behaviors, I’m more than positive it will start to suggest some rather accurate viewing content for the regular users.

Imagine, rather than scrolling down that same old vertical TV guide we have become so used too, you get to Google it, and find when and where the shows you want to watch.  Not to mention a standard DVR method that works with all providers, Dish Network, DriectTV, AT&T, etc.  Although we are not too sure the amount of storage, I am sure it will get the job done effectively.  Also, just like the pocketBLU app for all you blu ray freaks, which lets you control your Blu-Ray players with your Android or iPhone smartphones, there will be an app to allow your phone to thus act as the remote for your new television experience.  It will fully control all functions; yet so will the keyboard you receive with the Revue.  Although you can only imagine the Sony TV’s will be shipping with them as well.  Sony is releasing its full line of TV’s and details on October 12, 2010.

All in all, this is the direction that technology is taking us in, and Google has clearly one-upped Apple, again, by offering us a quality product that is both intuitive, user friendly, and way more customizable than Apple will ever let its customers ever get a hold of.  As for me, I will keep looking for my perfect viewing scenario, but at least for the rest, this seems to be a pretty sweet ride.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

